My First 5K

Running a 5K – not a big deal to all you marathoners and triathletes out there.  But for me, it was an accomplishment for a number of reasons:

(1) As of May, I could barely run for longer than 3 minutes at a time on the treadmill.
(2) I did it by myself.
(3) The race was to raise funds and awareness for a cause that I am pretty passionate about.

5K_2

I used to think that people who would pay money in order to run were a little bit off their rockers. So imagine my surprise when I discovered that it was actually…..fun?  I’m normally not a morning person but the energy and enthusiasm was really infectious.   Plus the morning was crisp and sunny, the course was nice, and there was plenty of people-watching to keep me occupied.  It turns out that time flies when you’re running in a big pack of people with more people on the sidelines cheering for you.  Crossing the finish line was kind of anti-climactic since it was sort of like finishing a regular morning run and I wasn’t really going for speed.  My favorite part was actually the snacking afterwards** – energy drinks, fruit, and protein bars galore.
**one of the reasons why I enjoy donating blood too 😀

5K

Regarding the cause, which was to raise funds to support organizations that fight human trafficking and help victims of trafficking: it is something that is very close to my heart.  I have never personally met any victims, but my heart absolutely breaks just reading the stories and imagining the horror of what they endure.  At this point, I’m still trying to figure out how to get involved beyond donating money and educating myself about the problem of sex trafficking both here in the U.S. and internationally.  This is a really good book, if you’re interested in learning more.  Apparently Sacramento is among the worst cities in the U.S. for its trafficking problem, so there is plenty to be done here.  Here is more information about the organization and its beneficiaries.

So that was my first 5K experience.  I would totally be up for doing another one, and maybe even a 10K someday.  No thanks to anything with the word “marathon” in it 🙂

4 thoughts on “My First 5K

  1. Yay, Eleasa!! That’s so great – esp for the cause that you chose. I was hoping to read more about what training was like for you and how or what you had to change about your life/lifestyle (eating habits?) as you trained for it.

    • Thanks, Mary Ann! Haha the funny thing is that I wasn’t really training for anything in particular. I actually decided to do this race the day before. In terms of working up to running 3 miles straight, it was long, slow, and painful. I’m not really a disciplined person by nature, but the desire to just be healthy is what drove/drives me every morning to get up and go running or do *some* kind of exercise. And my pants were starting to get tight :/ I started out by just running 3 minutes/walking 2 minutes, for 20 minutes, then 25 minutes, then 30 minutes. Then I would try running 4 minutes/walking 1 minute until finally I could run for 30 minutes straight. That took me about 2 months to get there. I didn’t really change my eating habits at all. 🙂

    • nah, no cramping! There are a lot of workout ideas online, that walk beginners through training for a 5K. The “couch to 5K” program is pretty good…I started out loosely following the treadmill program and then just transitioned to running outside when we moved here 🙂 http://www.runningforbeginners.com/

      Are you thinking of taking up running (if you don’t already)?

Leave a Reply

