Moving Again

Yes, we are moving yet again….

…to Sacramento!

I can’t believe it’s been 9 years since my parents and I took that long cross country drive from San Diego to Wisconsin.  Another 4 years after that, we drove from Wisconsin to Massachusetts in one very ltiring day.  It was intense.  And now this July, husband and I will be driving ourselves, Speedy the Chinchilla, and Mister Fish from Connecticut to California!

We had a pretty difficult time making the decision to take the job offered here or the one in California.  I won’t go into the details here for privacy reasons, but the hardest part was to know what we actually wanted — for David, in terms of his job/career, and for me, in terms of a possible residency/next steps.  We spent hours going over the pros and cons of each decision without knowing what it was that we actually preferred for ourselves.

As we shared our dilemma with friends and family, we heard over and over again, yeah…that’s a tough decision.  Sometimes it felt like my head was spinning with the choices as we went back and forth over and over again.  What helped me to calm down was when our small group prayed over us.  Specifically, they prayed that we would know what we actually wanted and then we could present those heart’s desires to God and ask for wisdom.  So that’s what we did.  I was finally able to admit that yes, I did want to be back in California so that I could be closer to my sister and parents, but I could also honestly say that I would be really happy and completely supportive if we stayed here.

This attitude was a huge change from where I started 9 years ago.  When I first moved away, all I could think about was going back to California.  I really loved Wisconsin and all of the awesome people that I met there.  But I had set my hope so much on being back in California that I cried on Match Day after I found out I was moving to Massachusetts (don’t worry, I made it home first).

But then being in Massachusetts turned out to be an enormous blessing.  I got to take weekend trips to visit my grandma in what would be her last years, which definitely would not have been possible in a surgery residency in California.  David and I got to spend Thanksgiving holidays (when we weren’t working) with my uncle, aunt, and cousins, which was SO much fun.  We both met amazing people who will be lifelong friends 🙂  We got to enjoy weekend visits in New York and Boston.   In fact, I was actually starting to get quite comfy here on the East Coast.  We don’t hate it here (maybe except for the endless winters…it’s snowing right now as I write this), which made the decision even tougher.

In the end, David stayed up all night the night before he was supposed to give his final answer to the place in California.  I’m not sure what he was thinking about, because I was sleeping quite soundly, knowing that whatever decision he made would turn out just fine 🙂

So that’s the story!  And now we are anticipating a move across the country in just a few short months.  It’s exciting to be starting a new chapter in a new city.  We’ll definitely miss our friends and family here, but our door is always open for guests! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Moving Again

  1. I would love to hear the angsty version of this. I know it wasn’t an easy decision but I’m glad that God gave you and David peace. Praying that He continue to affirm His leading and caring hand in your lives!

    • Haha, there is definitely an angsty version 🙂 Your prayers are very much appreciated as we sort out the details of moving and everything else. Love you!

Leave a Reply

