Frosting Win!

This week, I used our anniversary as an excuse to make more cupcakes.  And finally, after 2 previous attempts using 2 different recipes, I found a smooth, fluffy, not too sweet, not too buttery frosting that doesn’t make me want to wipe off my cupcake.

IMG_5291

I started by searching for “light not too sweet frosting.”  And what came up on the first page was a post by The Pioneer Woman about the best frosting.  A quick glance at some of the other recipes on the first page revealed that the magic ingredients are FLOUR and milk to balance the taste and mouthfeel of 2 sticks of butter.  Who would’ve thunk it?!?  I had seen this so-called “cooked flour frosting” during my previous frosting searches but it sounded gross so I had always glossed over it.  But if the Pioneer Woman says it’s good, then it must be good!

IMG_5296

Next, I looked for some ways to flavor it, because I had it in my head that I wanted to make coconut frosting to top a coconut cream cheese-filled chocolate cupcake.  So my next search was for “cooked flour frosting”, which landed me here.  I used this recipe, substituting the milk and cream for unsweetened coconut milk.  This recipe tweaks the technique of cooking the milk and flour by melting in the sugar also, which keeps it smooth (because apparently some people have had trouble with the frosting turning out gritty from the sugar).  Plus it gives very helpful troubleshooting tips and flavoring options like cream cheese, peanut butter, chocolate, nutella, etc.

IMG_5298Thanks for the lovely new cake stand, husband!

I found this frosting really easy to make.  The trick was to keep whisking and whisking the milk/flour/sugar mixture the whole time to prevent lumps from forming.  It’s a good arm workout!  After that, all you do is whip the room temp butter in your mixer until fluffy, then pour in the *cooled* flour mixture and add whatever flavors you want.  So simple!  The result was a yummy, not too sweet frosting that I could actually eat by the spoonful (which is the ultimate test for a frosting, right?).   🙂

2 thoughts on “Frosting Win!

Leave a Reply

