Nutella Peanut Butter Banana Bread + Perfect Banana Bread recipe.

This is a post dedicated to banana bread, which I think is a delicious and not too unhealthy comfort food.  Husband says the smell of banana bread in the oven reminds him of Christmas.

I’ve been wanting to try this Nutella-swirled peanut butter banana bread ever since my mom sent me the link a couple months ago, and finally was able to make a double batch this past weekend.  One for us to keep, one for a friend 🙂  My Nutella didn’t swirl as nicely (or at all, really), but who cares?  It tasted SO good.  Slightly crispy on the outside Nutella topping, and deliciously soft and moist bread with a perfect balance of peanut butter, banana, and chocolate chips.  And this was even with not-quite-ripe-enough bananas!

Image

My recipe modifications – I added 1/4 cup of plain low-fat yogurt because my perfect banana bread recipe (see below) calls for yogurt to make it *always* moist and soft.  I also used peanut butter chips instead of chopped up Reese’s since I had some leftovers that I needed to finish up anyways.

So, after you make this fancy stuff and you feel like you just want something classic and delicious, try making the perfect banana bread, which was adapted from this recipe.  Ask anyone who has had it (husband, my parents, my sister, my neighbors)…this foolproof recipe makes some really yummy banana bread!

For one 9×5″ loaf:

Ingredients:
1/4 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup canola oil
1 cup of granulated sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup plain yogurt
2-3 very ripe bananas, mashed (2 large, or 3 medium)
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
Plus 1/2 cup chocolate chips if you want 🙂
Directions:
1.  Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9×5 inch loaf pan
2. In a large bowl, cream together butter, oil, and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in eggs one at a time, mixing well with each addition.  Add in vanilla.
3. Sift together flour, baking soda, and salt separately, then add to butter/sugar/egg mixture.  Mix until flour mixture is just moistened.
4. Fold in yogurt, bananas, chopped walnuts, and chocolate chips.
5. Bake at 350 for 50-60 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool in pan for at least 15 minutes before removing to cool on wire rack.
Leave a Reply

