Another Cupcake Adventure!

Yesterday was husband’s 30th birthday (happy birthday!!), so of course that was the perfect excuse to make cupcakes again!
Image

From his birthday dinner on Sunday at the same French restaurant from my birthday.  Mollie, if you’re reading this, your bread pudding is yummier!

 How can anyone resist making cupcakes for this face??  (I might get in trouble for posting this, but oh well! Hahaha)

Image

Anyways, in the past, husband has mentioned certain desserts of mine that he really loves – lemon blueberry bars, apple crisp, and lemon herb muffins with lemon glaze that I made once.  Since lemon made 2 out of the top 3, I decided to make lemon mint cupcakes with lemon frosting.

As you may (or may not) remember, in my last cupcake adventure I confessed my distaste for American buttercream and that I planned to venture into the world of Swiss meringue buttercream for my next frosting attempt.  Why?  Well, I’m not a huge fan of the gritty, super sweet American buttercream frosting, and Swiss meringue buttercream is supposed to be much less sweet with a smoother texture.

Although the more I think about it, the more I realize that I’m really trying to make the same kind of frosting that Sumi of Sumi’s Oven makes, which to me is the gold standard for frosting.  I wish I could just get her recipe!  She made our amazing wedding cupcakes that I still sometimes daydream about even nearly 2 years later.  Mmmmm.  She’s also so nice, very professional, and very reasonably priced if there’s anyone in San Diego looking for someone to make a cake for an occasion 🙂

So anyways, after doing a lot of research online, I ended up referencing this really great tutorial on Swiss meringue buttercream for the recipe and for tips and technique.

I’ve never made a meringue before so I was super excited by how pretty mine turned out!  Some people say to only use fresh egg whites, but I used the liquid pasteurized egg whites and had no trouble.

Image
To this you just add 3 sticks of cubed, cool butter (I know, so bad!) and whip forever until it becomes smooth and creamy, and then add flavoring.  In my case I added the zest of 2 large lemons and the juice of 1 lemon.

For the cupcake part, I used Sally’s recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction.  Her recipes seem to be on point every time I use them, so I actually subscribe to her site now for ideas.  The only thing I changed was that I melted the butter with mint to infuse it with the flavor then strained out the mint leaves as described here.

Image
The cupcakes were really good. Soft, moist, fluffy, and nice and lemony with a hint of mint flavor.  The buttercream was, well, too buttery.  I know that it’s called a BUTTERcream for a reason, but still, I have trouble stomaching all of that butter.

Image
So I’m still searching for the perfect frosting recipe.  I may try this same recipe next time, but cut down the amount of butter and see if it still holds together.

And that’s it for this cupcake adventure!  This one was much easier and less messy and frustrating, which makes me think that practice makes perfect! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Another Cupcake Adventure!

Leave a Reply

