Homemade Chocolate Chip Bagels

So, I had a craving for chocolate chip bagels yesterday and thought I would try my hand at homemade!  Why?  Well, as much as I love any kind of baking, I think that baking with yeast is the ultimate.  It smells so nice and doughy, kneading is a workout, and plus there is such satisfaction in seeing your dough rise nice and puffy.

These bagels weren’t the prettiest, but they tasted really yummy.  The texture was perfect – a bit crisp on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside.  I accidentally ate 2 entire bagels within 5 minutes when they were hot and fresh from the oven.  At least I didn’t put any cream cheese? 🙂

choco chip bagels

I got the recipe and photo tutorial from here, which was super helpful since I’ve never made bagels before.  There are many steps involved, but at least most of it is waiting around!

Things I would do differently next time:

1. Add more chocolate chips to the dough.  I thought I had added plenty (about half a cup) since it was turning the dough brown and getting all over my hands when I was kneading it in.  But still, there weren’t enough!  I will probably add 3/4 cup for the same batch next time.

2. Instead of dipping the bagel in cornmeal, I think I’m going to sprinkle a layer of cornmeal on the baking sheet.  My bagel bottoms were covered in cornmeal, which I didn’t find all that pleasant.  I ended up brushing a lot of it off.

3. Figure out a way to make my dough more of a ball instead of looking so piecemeal.  Maybe it’s my kneading technique or something, I dunno.  Either way, I want my bagels to be smooth!

4. Drive to Panera and just buy a chocolate chip bagel next time I have a craving. 🙂

Leave a Reply

