Thankful

Thanksgiving is almost here and I couldn’t be more excited.  It has always been one of my favorite holidays because it’s so family-centered, much less commercialized/crazy than Christmas (although I still looooove Christmas…I have been blasting Christmas music starting 3 weeks ago in my car), and plus it’s fun to load up the table with delicious things.

Apparently people who are grateful tend to be happier also, so maybe that’s another reason why I feel happy around Thanksgiving time.  Anyways, I love putting in writing what I am thankful for, so here goes:

Our nice cozy apartment with a washer/dryer in unit
Flowers that I received for my birthday last week which are still blooming beautifully
Being able to drive
Rain
The means  be able to to bake and cook and host
The holiday snack section at Trader Joe’s
Family nearby for Thanksgiving
That husband has Thanksgiving day off, thanks to his amazing co-fellow
That I get to have every day including Thanksgiving day off
Wednesday morning Pilates class
Warm cozy jackets and boots for the cold
Husband and how he loves, serves, and cherishes me
TJ Maxx and their great deals on kitchen stuff
Church family, near and far
the delicious Turkish kebab restaurant around the corner from our current church
Wonderful parents who, after showering me with “early birthday presents” for months, STILL asked, “did we give you your birthday present yet?”
My sister who called me nearly every day for months because she was worried about me
Photos to look back on and relive fun memories
Sweet friendships across the decades and miles 🙂
Disability insurance checks
God’s faithfulness and kindness
My car
Glee soundtracks to blast and sing along with in the car even in horrible traffic (effective to combat road rage 🙂
Sea salt caramel anything

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change. (James 1:17)

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

