Three Pounds of Apples

Fall has always been my favorite season since leaving California for so many reasons – crisp cool weather, apple picking, pumpkin spice lattes, leaves changing color, scented candles (since we don’t have a fireplace)

Apples happened to be on sale at the store last week (3 pounds for only $2.50!).   I was excited to not only eat them straight up, but also to try using them in ways other than apple pie or apple crisp (not that there’s anything wrong with those things).  Fresh produce used to always get spoiled before we could finish it all, so I was determined to not let that happen.

I think my biggest triumph last week was this:  Herb-apple turkey burgers topped with Brie, onion apple relish, and arugula.  Baked sweet potato chips on the side.Image

I grated a whole apple into the ground turkey along with fresh sage and thyme, S&P and mixed it all together.  The apple makes the burger incredibly juicy and tender and delicious.  The whole combination was just….so good.  Really, really good.  My mouth is actually watering looking at this picture.  Now I want another burger…. mmmmm….

The apple onion relish by itself was really tasty too.  It’s simple to make but takes time because you have to babysit the stove for a good 45 minutes.  I adapted the recipe from here.  I used olive oil instead of butter, and left out the onion powder.  I also added a splash of apple cider vinegar because I prefer it a little more tangy.

Other things that ended up on the apple menu:  chicken salad, spiced apple bread with cinnamon streusel topping, and apple/onion pork roast slow cooked in beer and chicken stock.

All in all, a successful use of the apples!

And now, I have a bunch of leftover sage and thyme to inspire my cooking for the rest of the week 🙂  Ideas are welcome!

Leave a Reply

