Life of the Unemployed

For the past 6 months I have had the bittersweet privilege of being unemployed.  Granted, I did have 2 surgeries during that time so there are recovery periods and weekly doctor’s appointments factored in.  But for someone who has been used to long, intense workweeks and no summer breaks for the past 6 years, it was indeed a challenge to get used to all of the free time.  *Note: I personally count stay at home moms as being FULLY employed.

So, with no kids, no job, what do I do all day long?  Good question!

Well, for the first few weeks, I was sleeping nearly 12 hours a day, probably to fill up my “sleep bank” which had been seriously depleted over the past 4 years.

And now that we’re more settled into our new place, I’ve developed more of a routine.

In the AM, my morning round starts off with going to the gym.  My weekly rotation includes Zumba, Pilates, and kickboxing.  Pilates makes me the most sore by far (in places that I never knew could be sore!).  Zumba and kickboxing are just fun and make me smile.

Then afterwards, I’ll make my grocery store run to buy stuff for the day.  Sometimes dinner is simple and sometimes it’s more complicated.  Basically I crave something and try out a new recipe, or I just wander around the grocery store and buy the cheapest produce and protein and then come up with something based on that.

Image

My cooking style is very random — Chinese, Italian, Polish, or whatever Trader Joe’s stuff we have on hand.  A couple days ago, I had a serious craving for sauerkraut and mushroom pierogi, so I decided to try my hand at making my own since they never sell this kind at the store.  They turned out delicious!

<recipe below>

In the afternoons, I usually crochet for a couple of hours while watching TV shows on Amazon. Yes, I know I’m like an old lady but I don’t care. 🙂  My recent TV show faves are Covert Affairs, Suits, Lark Rise to Candleford, and Iron Chef America.   So many people are having babies coming up so I thought it would be fun to do some projects to give away.  I just finished my first baby blanket (yay!) and I’m starting a baby owl hat too because I think they’re adorable.  I currently have enough supplies for 6 (pink only) so order up now!

So, life is very different right now, but still good. We are trusting that God has a plan and will give us direction as David looks for jobs and I figure out what to do with my life.

And now, the pierogi recipe!  Original dough recipe here.  I left out the butter with no adverse effects on the taste or texture.

Sauerkraut and Mushroom Pierogi

Dough:
2 1/4 cups of flour
1 large egg
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup sour cream
2-5 tablespoons of water

Filling:
1 quart of sauerkraut, rinsed and drained
8 oz mushrooms, chopped
1 small onion, finely chopped
2 tbsp sour cream (optional)
salt and pepper to taste

Boil sauerkraut in water and simmer for 20 minutes. Drain.  Saute onions and mushrooms, then add sauerkraut and saute until cooked through.  Set aside to cool.  Once cool mix in sour cream and salt and pepper

For the dough, mix together flour, salt, egg, and sour cream with dough attachment on mixer.   Add in water 1 tablespoon at a time until dough is slightly sticky and moist.  Continue to knead until smooth. Wrap well in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 60 minutes.  Divide dough into 2 portions and roll out to 1/8″ thick on well-floured surface.  Cut out as many 3″ rounds as possible.  Fill with filling, making sure that edges are well-sealed.

Pierogi can then be frozen or cooked.  Cook in salted boiling water until floating, about 3-5 minutes. Then remove and pan fry in olive oil or butter until golden brown on both sides.  Serve with sour cream and applesauce, or just fresh ground black pepper. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Life of the Unemployed

  1. I’d love to try your recipe sometime! Even though I don’t think I’ve ever tried a pierogi before, they look like potstickers and therefore look delicious!!

    I know that God has something amazing in store for you, in the meantime, I’m glad you are getting some much needed rest and have developed quite the active and creative schedule! I’d like an adult-sized owl hat please. 🙂

    • Aww thanks Shann! They are like potstickers, but a little bigger.

      I will personally deliver you an adult owl hat in October! Haha. 🙂 It’ll be an excuse to drive up to LA and see you again

Leave a Reply

